Home » Archives by category » Columns » Transit Sam (Page 4)

Thurs., Jan. 14 – Wed., Jan. 20 ALTERNATE SIDE PARKING RULES ARE SUSPENDED MONDAY FOR MLK DAY  Heads up, Lower Manhattanites: Martin Luther King Jr. Day on Monday is a Summons Alert Day! While you may get lured into the 3-day relaxation and break from most schools and offices, remember: it is NOT a 3-day […]

Continue reading …

Thursday, December 24 – Wednesday, December 30 ALTERNATE SIDE PARKING RULES ARE SUSPENDED FRIDAY FOR CHRISTMAS  Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year, Lower Manhattanites! Just because there aren’t any official “Gridlock Alert Days” left this year doesn’t mean you’ll be off the holiday traffic hook! Christmas Eve Thursday roads will be a flurry of […]

Continue reading …

Thurs., Dec. 17 – Wed., Dec. 23 ALTERNATE SIDE PARKING RULES ARE IN EFFECT ALL WEEK Happy holidays to all my readers! The roads are decked with major gridlock: the city announced official Gridlock Alert Days for Thursday, Friday, and next Wednesday. Traffic volumes will be higher all over the city, especially at crossings in […]

Continue reading …

Dates: Thur., Dec. 10 – Wed., Dec. 16 ALTERNATE SIDE PARKING RULES ARE IN EFFECT ALL WEEK We’re in the middle of the busiest time of the year: from Thanksgiving to New Year, New York welcomes more than five million visitors, and that means gridlock for all. This Friday and Wednesday are official NYC Gridlock […]

Continue reading …

Thurs., Dec. 3 – Wed., Dec. 9  ALTERNATE SIDE PARKING RULES ARE SUSPENDED TUESDAY FOR IMMACULATE CONCEPTION. Battle at the Meadowlands means more traffic on Manhattan streets. The Giants and Jets face off 1 p.m. Sunday at MetLife Stadium. 75,000 fans turned out last year, so a crush of drivers will take to the Lincoln […]

Continue reading …

Thurs., Nov. 26 – Wed., Dec. 2 ALTERNATE SIDE PARKING IS SUSPENDED THURSDAY FOR THANKSGIVING Happy Thanksgiving! Expect a cornucopia of traffic this holiday weekend: gas prices are down, air travel is up, and subways are crowded as always, meaning lots of folks will be traveling to and from the city. Enjoy your day(s) off, and be […]

Continue reading …

Thurs., Nov. 19 – Wed., Nov. 25 ALTERNATE SIDE PARKING RULES ARE IN EFFECT ALL WEEK A cornucopia of Gridlock is here again! Lower Manhattan will see traffic surges over the next two weeks starting this Friday, with the approaches to the bridges and tunnels taking the hardest hit. The lines at the Holland Tunnel […]

Continue reading …

Thursday, Nov. 12 – Wednesday, Nov.18 ALTERNATE SIDE PARKING RULES ARE IN EFFECT ALL WEEK Double football this week at Metlife Stadium! The Jets play the Bills 8:25 p.m. Thursday. A slow return to Manhattan Thursday night after the game: one tube of the Lincoln Tunnel will close 11 p.m. Thursday to 5 a.m. Friday, […]

Continue reading …

Thurs., Nov. 5 – Wed., Nov. 11  ALTERNATE SIDE PARKING RULES ARE SUSPENDED WEDNESDAY FOR VETERANS DAY  Happy Veterans Day! Transit Sam salutes all of our courageous veterans. To honor the day, the Veterans Day Festival will close Broadway between Liberty St. and Battery Pl. 10 a.m. to 7 p.m. Wednesday. Expect West St. southbound […]

Continue reading …

Dates: Thursday, October 29 – Wednesday, November 4  ALTERNATE SIDE PARKING RULES ARE SUSPENDED TUESDAY FOR ELECTION DAY  Gridlock is about to get ghastly in Lower Manhattan! The Village Halloween Parade returns Saturday night, bringing horrific traffic along with it. This year’s parade promises to be bigger and better than ever, closing Sixth Ave. between Canal and 18th Sts., […]

Continue reading …