Home » Archives by category » Columns » Transit Sam (Page 4)

Dates: Thurs., Jan. 12–Wed., Jan. 28 ALTERNATE SIDE PARKING RULES ARE SUSPENDED MONDAY FOR MARTIN LUTHER KING JR. DAY These are the best of times after the worst of times for traffic Downtown.  Though last month was a challenge for commuters, January and February are the lightest months of the year. Barring snow, major crashes, […]

Continue reading …

He’ll be back Jan. 12, 2017.

Continue reading …

Dates: Thursday, December 22 – Wednesday, December 28 ALTERNATE SIDE PARKING RULES SUSPENDED MONDAY IN OBSERVANCE OF CHRISTMAS DAY Gridlock Alert for Thursday and Friday!  Transit Sam is estimating a million cars heading to Manhattan on both days with Friday being the worst. Friday is a big getaway day and metro airports are predicting it to be the heaviest day of the year for fliers.  Downtowners […]

Continue reading …

Dates: Thurs. Dec.15 – Wed. Dec. 21 ALTERNATE SIDE PARKING RULES ARE IN EFFECT ALL WEEK Gridlock alert Thursday, Friday, and Wednesday of next week — and that means roads will be extra-extra busy with shoppers, tourists, holiday-partyers, and early-bird Christmas vacationers. On those days, Transit Sam wants YOU to take transit. Not quite as […]

Continue reading …

Dates: Thursday, December 8 – Wednesday, December 14 ALTERNATE SIDE PARKING RULES ARE IN EFFECT ALL WEEK Gridlock alert! The DOT has declared Friday a Gridlock Alert Day. New York’s new normal might be slower roads overall, but on days like Friday, Transit Sam (and the DOT) urge drivers to leave the car at home […]

Continue reading …

Dates: Thurs., Dec. 1–Wed., Dec. 7 ALTERNATE SIDE PARKING RULES ARE IN EFFECT ALL WEEK Maybe it’s Trump-lock in Midtown, maybe it’s the new Nike store, maybe it’s because so many people think Soho is so hot… Whatever the reason the crowds in Soho, especially along Broadway, Canal St. to Houston St. and north, look […]

Continue reading …

Dates: Thursday, November 24 – Wednesday, November 30 SUNDAY RULES IN EFFECT THURSDAY FOR THANKSGIVING — FRIDAY ALL PARKING RULES REINSTATED Happy Thanksgiving! Here’s the day-by-day rundown and how it affects Downtown: Thursday morning will be an easy time to drive or taxi as long as one stays south of the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade […]

Continue reading …

Dates: Fri., Nov. 19 – Sun., Nov. 23 ALTERNATE SIDE PARKING RULES ARE IN EFFECT ALL WEEK This year, nearly 50 million Americans will take off to feast to their hearts’ content for Turkey Day, which means the most cars on the road for Thanksgiving in nearly a decade. Of these 50 million, 90 percent […]

Continue reading …

Dates:  Thursday, November 10 –Wednesday, November 16 ALTERNATE SIDE PARKING RULES ARE SUSPENDED FRIDAY FOR VETERANS DAY W is for Wow!  Lower Manhattanites get their W train back effective this week.  The W train, you’ll recall, services Whitehall, Canal, City Hall and all N train stops in Manhattan and Queens.  The W runs weekday service […]

Continue reading …

Dates: Thurs., Nov. 3–Wed., Nov. 9 ALTERNATE SIDE PARKING RULES SUSPENDED TUESDAY FOR ELECTION DAY Marathon gridlock alert! The NYC Marathon — the biggest in the world — will see more than 50,000 athletes stampede through our streets on Sunday from roughly 7 a.m. to noon. And let’s hope they run fast, because the long […]

Continue reading …