Home » Archives by category » Columns » Transit Sam (Page 3)

Thurs., May 8 – Wed., May 14 ALTERNATE SIDE PARKING RULES ARE IN EFFECT ALL WEEK Happy Mother’s Day! Mother’s Day causes far more traffic than Father’s Day.  Moms cook for dads but dads take moms out to dinner. So if you’re taking mom Downtown to celebrate, take note of the art fairs below. Tough […]

Continue reading …

ALTERNATE SIDE PARKING RULES ARE IN EFFECT ALL WEEK Mayday, it’s May Day! Occupy-related protests will return to Lower Manhattan Thursday afternoon, when one march heads down Broadway from Union Square to Whitehall St. at 5 p.m. A simultaneous march from Union Square to Foley Square may close Lafayette from 3rd St. 5 p.m. to […]

Continue reading …

Thurs., April 24 – Wed., April 30 ALTERNATE SIDE PARKING RULES ARE IN EFFECT ALL WEEK  |   In the Lincoln Tunnel, the New York-bound south tube will close 11 p.m. Thursday to 5 a.m. Friday. During the same hours, one inbound lane of the Holland Tunnel will close. That’ll spell major slow downs into Lower […]

Continue reading …

Thurs., April 17 – Wed., April 23 ALTERNATE SIDE PARKING RULES ARE SUSPENDED THURSDAY, FRIDAY, MONDAY, AND TUESDAY FOR HOLY THURSDAY, GOOD FRIDAY, AND THE SEVENTH AND EIGHTH DAYS OF PASSOVER Lower Manhattanites, if you haven’t gotten caught in New York-bound Holland Tunnel traffic yet, remember that the New York-bound Pulaski Skyway (connecting Newark and […]

Continue reading …

Thurs., April 10 – Wed., April 16 ALTERNATE SIDE PARKING RULES ARE SUSPENDED TUESDAY AND WEDNESDAY FOR PASSOVER Passover-Easter parking break!  Get a good parking spot on Monday, April 14 and you won’t have to move your car for alternate side parking until Wednesday, April 23!  The only exception is where A.S.P. is in effect […]

Continue reading …

  Thurs., April 3 – Wed., April 9 ALTERNATE SIDE PARKING RULES ARE IN EFFECT ALL WEEK A full weekend closure ahead on the Brooklyn Bridge! All Manhattan-bound lanes will close midnight Friday night to 6 a.m. Monday. Expect extra traffic in the Battery Tunnel and on the Manhattan and Williamsburg bridges, and West St., […]

Continue reading …

Thurs., March 27 – Wed., April 2  |  ALTERNATE SIDE PARKING RULES ARE IN EFFECT ALL WEEK Thursday night traffic turbulence getting to Lower Manhattan once again. Under the Hudson River, the Lincoln Tunnel’s south tube to New York will close 11 p.m. Thursday to 5 a.m. Friday, sending inbound traffic south to the Holland […]

Continue reading …

Thurs., March 20 – Wed., March 26 ALTERNATE SIDE PARKING IS IN EFFECT ALL WEEK All Manhattan-bound lanes of the Brooklyn Bridge will close 11 p.m. Thursday to 6 a.m. Friday, coinciding with the closure of one inbound lane in the Holland Tunnel. Further north, the New York-bound south tube of the Lincoln Tunnel will […]

Continue reading …

Thurs., March 13 – Wed., March 19 ALTERNATE SIDE PARKING RULES IN EFFECT ALL WEEK Happy St. Patrick’s Day! Midtown will be hardest hit by the 253rd annual St. Patrick’s Day Parade on Fifth Ave. 11 a.m. to 4 p.m. Monday but Lower Manhattan will feel the domino effect.  The limits of the parade are 42nd […]

Continue reading …

Thurs., March 6 – Wed., March 12 ALTERNATE SIDE PARKING RULES ARE IN EFFECT ALL WEEK The terrorism trial of Abu Ghaith, Obama Bin Laden’s son-in-law, is underway at the Manhattan Federal Court in Foley Square. Expect turbulence on Lafayette and Centre Sts. Anything is possible, meaning streets could close without warning, so be forewarned. […]

Continue reading …