Home » Archives by category » Columns » Transit Sam (Page 3)

Dates: Thurs., March 23 – Wed., March 29 ALTERNATE SIDE PARKING RULES ARE IN EFFECT ALL WEEK Now that Brooklyn-Battery Tunnel tolls have gone up, we’re seeing more traffic divert to the Brooklyn and Manhattan bridges, affecting Lower Manhattan. If you use the tunnel, you’ll see longer lines for cash payment. That’s because the transaction […]

Continue reading …

Dates: Thursday, March 16 – Wednesday, March 22 ALTERNATE SIDE PARKING RULES SUSPENDED THURSDAY THROUGH SATURDAY FOR SNOW OPERATIONS The NYC Half Marathon returns Sunday from 7 a.m. to 2 p.m., bringing 20,000 runners to streets from midtown to the tip of Manhattan, and gridlock to match. This route will close the West Side Highway […]

Continue reading …

Dates: Thurs., Mar. 9–Wed., Mar. 15 ALTERNATE SIDE PARKING RULES IN EFFECT ALL WEEK The demos keep on going strong in Lower Manhattan, with Foley Square as this week’s big destination. Today, Thursday, from 9 a.m. to noon, the Solidarity Rally Against Deportation will bring demonstrators to Foley Square, bounded by Worth, Centre, and Lafayette […]

Continue reading …

Dates: Thursday, March 2 – Wednesday, March 8 ALTERNATE SIDE PARKING RULES ARE IN EFFECT ALL WEEK Demos are back this week in lower Manhattan! Wednesday from 4 p.m. to 8 p.m., women will take over the streets for the “International Women’s Day Strike,” bringing thousands to Washington Square Park. From there, they’ll march, in […]

Continue reading …

Dates: Thurs., Feb. 23–Wed., Mar. 1 ALTERNATE SIDE PARKING RULES ARE SUSPENDED FOR ASH WEDNESDAY Ash Wednesday is an ASP Alert Day! ASP rules ARE suspended but all others — meters, “Anytime…” signs, etc.— remain in effect. Subway: Uptown 1 and 2 trains will skip Franklin, Canal, Houston, and Christopher Streets from 11:45 p.m. to […]

Continue reading …

Dates: Thursday, February 16 – Wednesday, February 22 ALTERNATE SIDE PARKING RULES SUSPENDED MONDAY FOR PRESIDENT’S DAY Monday, President’s Day, is a Summons Alert Day! ASP rules will be suspended, but don’t be fooled: all other rules, such as meters, remain in effect. People often forget this and, consequently, summonses abound. As a rule of thumb, […]

Continue reading …

Dates: Thurs., Feb. 9–Wed., Feb. 15 ALTERNATE SIDE PARKING RULES SUSPENDED THURSDAY, FRIDAY & SATURDAY FOR SNOW & MONDAY FOR LINCOLN’S BIRTHDAY Special ASP alert! ASP rules will be suspended Thursday (today) through Saturday for snow-removal operations. And remember, Lincoln’s Birthday will be observed Monday, which means ASP rules will be suspended. But this is one […]

Continue reading …

Dates: Thursday, February 2 – Wednesday, February 8 ALTERNATE SIDE PARKING RULES ARE IN EFFECT ALL WEEK If this past few weeks have taught us anything, it’s that demonstrations will happen on the regular for a long time to come, bringing unprecedented numbers together in a flash. Follow me on Twitter @GridlockSam for the latest. […]

Continue reading …

Dates: Thurs., Jan. 26–Wed., Feb. 1 ALTERNATE SIDE PARKING RULES ARE SUSPENDED SATURDAY FOR ASIAN LUNAR NEW YEAR Asian Lunar New Year festivities begin again this week, leaving Lower Manhattan packed with lion-dancers and spectators, alike. In the West Village, Fashion Week preparations begin. New Year events kick off this weekend with the Chinese New […]

Continue reading …

Dates: Thursday, January 19 – Wednesday, January 25 ALTERNATE SIDE PARKING RULES ARE SUSPENDED IN EFFECT ALL WEEK The Inauguration is Friday and New Yorkers are responding with demos from Thursday through Saturday. On Thursday, demonstrators will gather outside Goldman Sachs on West St. between Vesey and Murray Sts. all day Thursday until midnight Friday. […]

Continue reading …