Home » Archives by category » Columns » Transit Sam (Page 2)

Dates: Thurs., June 1–Wed., June 7 ALTERNATE SIDE PARKING RULES SUSPENDED THURSDAY FOR SHAVUOT Demo alert! The March for Truth, will bring demonstrators to Foley Square, between Centre, Worth, and Lafayette streets, at 9 a.m. on Saturday. At 10:30 a.m., the crowd will march down the east side of Broadway, ending on Beaver Street, between […]

Continue reading …

Dates: Thursday, May 25 – Wednesday, May 31  ALTERNATE SIDE PARKING RULES SUSPENDED MONDAY FOR MEMORIAL DAY AND WEDNESDAY (AND NEXT THURSDAY) FOR SHAVUOT Gridlock alert! Memorial Day is Monday, and that makes this weekend one of the biggest for out-of-city getaway times. Every year, New York gets slammed with jams as people flock to […]

Continue reading …

Dates: Thurs., May 18–Wed., May 24 ALTERNATE SIDE PARKING RULES IN EFFECT ALL WEEK Special Alert: Financial District streets shut down during Thursday’s afternoon rush hour! The American Heart Association Wall Street Run, will kick off a busy week for streets in Downtown Manhattan. Streets will start closing around 5 pm as runners mass on […]

Continue reading …

Dates: Thursday, May 11 – Wednesday, May 17 ALTERNATE SIDE PARKING RULES ARE IN EFFECT ALL WEEK Mother’s Day is Sunday, which means kids, spouses, and others will be out on the town for the day. There’s always much more traffic on Mother’s Day than on Father’s Day, because while moms often cook for dads, […]

Continue reading …

Dates: Thurs., May 4–Wed., May 10 ALTERNATE SIDE PARKING RULES IN EFFECT ALL WEEK POTUS alert! Today, Thursday, President Trump will arrive mid-afternoon in the Big Apple at the Wall Street Heliport. Via the FDR, he’ll go straight to midtown, shutting down the FDR all the way to 63rd Street, and will remain there until […]

Continue reading …

Dates: Thursday, April 20 – Wednesday, May 3 ALTERNATE SIDE PARKING RULES ARE IN EFFECT ALL WEEK Special alert! Trump will make his first presidential visit to New York Thursday, May 4th,  at the Intrepid, on 46th Street and West Side Highway. As of now, I hear the event will be during the evening, starting […]

Continue reading …

Dates: Thurs., April 20–Wed., April 26 ALTERNATE SIDE PARKING RULES IN EFFECT ALL WEEK Gridlock alert! Saturday is Earth Day, and in celebration, Broadway, between 17th and 47th Streets will go Car Free from 10 a.m. to 4 p.m. Because of diversions, lower Fifth and Park Avenues, as well as 14th Street will be jammed […]

Continue reading …

Dates: Thursday, April 13 – Wednesday, April 19 ALTERNATE SIDE PARKING RULES SUSPENDED THURSDAY, FRIDAY, MONDAY, AND TUESDAY Hold on to those ASP parking spaces, because unless you live on the rare street with Saturday street cleaning, you’ve got a space through Wednesday, with ASP suspended for Holy Thursday, Good Friday, and Monday and Tuesday […]

Continue reading …

Dates: Thur., April–Wed., April 12 ALTERNATE SIDE PARKING RULES SUSPENDED TUESDAY AND WEDNESDAY FOR PASSOVER The finger pointing has begun with the MTA and NJ Transit blaming Amtrak for poor maintenance and a terrible response to Monday’s derailment. Whoever is at fault, it is the public that will suffer. Service is still spotty as of […]

Continue reading …

Dates: Thursday, March 30 – Wednesday, April 5 ALTERNATE SIDE PARKING RULES ARE IN EFFECT ALL WEEK FDR Alert! The FDR southbound at Houston Street will be fully closed, Saturday and Sunday from midnight to 11 a.m. each day. At those times, the northbound FDR will be reduced to just one lane. So, if you’re […]

Continue reading …