Home » Archives by category » Columns » Transit Sam

Transit Sam Week of Sept. 14, 2017

Dates: Thursday, September 14 – Wednesday, September 20 ALTERNATE SIDE PARKING RULES ARE IN EFFECT ALL WEEK Brace yourselves, lower Manhattan! Between POTUS’s arrival in town on Sunday and the first Monday night football game of the year, on top of various street festivals and fairs, we’re looking at a tough traffic week ahead. President […]

Dates: Thurs., Sept. 7–Wed., Sept. 13 ALTERNATE SIDE PARKING RULES ARE IN EFFECT ALL WEEK Monday will mark the 16th anniversary of the September 11th attacks, and New York City and the nation will remember as always, with the 9/11 Ceremony, which will close the area bounded by Barclay Street and Battery Place, and between Broadway […]

Continue reading …

Dates: Thursday, August 31 – Wednesday, September 6 ALTERNATE SIDE PARKING RULES SUSPENDED FRIDAY, SATURDAY, AND MONDAY  Merge Ahead!  Get-away traffic plus Jets fans heading to MetLife will converge on Thursday evening. The Labor Day escape from New York City will begin in earnest on Thursday afternoon—which is, these days, the new Friday when it […]

Continue reading …

Thurs. Aug. 24–Wed., Aug. 30 ALTERNATE SIDE PARKING RULES IN EFFECT ALL WEEK Get ready for a home-team showdown at MetLife Stadium, as the Jets take on the Giants on Saturday! Though this preseason face-off will kick off at 7 p.m., expect jams to start mid-afternoon, with parking lots at the stadium opened by 2 […]

Continue reading …

Dates: Thursday, August 17 – Wednesday, August 23 ALTERNATE SIDE PARKING RULES ARE IN EFFECT ALL WEEK President Trump may have said goodbye to New York City until his next visit, but don’t worry: plenty of traffic-starters will cause Lower Manhattan Streets to freeze up over the coming week. Another Saturday of Summer Streets, from […]

Continue reading …

Thurs., Aug. 10–Wed., Aug. 16 ALTERNATE SIDE PARKING RULES SUSPENDED TUESDAY FOR FEAST OF THE ASSUMPTION Special alert! President Trump will make his second visit as POTUS to New York City, but unlike his May visit, he plans to stay for more than just a half-day jaunt. Brace yourselves for widespread gridlock from Sunday evening […]

Continue reading …

Dates: Thursday, August 3 – Wednesday, August 9 ALTERNATE SIDE PARKING RULES ARE IN EFFECT ALL WEEK Plenty of action will cause Lower Manhattan gridlock over the coming week. Here’s what’s on deck: On Friday, the Broad Street Summer Expo will close Liberty Street between Broadway and Church Street from 10 a.m. to 6 p.m. […]

Continue reading …

Dates: Thursday, July 27 – Wednesday, August 2 ALTERNATE SIDE PARKING RULES IN EFFECT ALL WEEK It’s a calm couple of weeks on the streets of Lower Manhattan as far as traffic-causing events. Even still, we’ve got just over one more month of extra-heavy jams ahead of us before NJ Transit can resume its normal […]

Continue reading …

Dates: Thursday, July 20 – Wednesday, July 26 ALTERNATE SIDE PARKING RULES IN EFFECT ALL WEEK I continue to monitor Lower Manhattan traffic to gauge the impact of the Penn Station repairs on Downtown streets near bridges and tunnels.  The west side continues to suffer from extra traffic, either because there are more drivers from […]

Continue reading …

Thurs., July 13 – Wed., July 19 ALTERNATE SIDE PARKING RULES IN EFFECT ALL WEEK We’re now a few days into Penn Station’s track repair and so far, most of us have been spared the predicted hellish conditions, but don’t get complacent. Wednesday evening, as I write this, the backups at the Holland Tunnel are […]

Continue reading …
Page 1 of 28123Next ›Last »