Home » Archives by category » Columns » Transit Sam

Transit Sam: Week of Feb. 15, 2018

Transit Sam 2.15.18b Dates: Thursday, February 15 – Wednesday, February 21 ALTERNATE SIDE PARKING RULES ARE SUSPENDED FRIDAY FOR LUNAR NEW YEAR AND MONDAY FOR WASHINGTON’S BIRTHDAY Hundreds of thousands of New Yorkers will be celebrating Lunar New Year Friday in Chinatown with firecrackers and Lion Dancers. It starts in Sara D. Roosevelt Park near […]

Dates: Thurs., Feb. 8–Wed., Feb. 14 ALTERNATE SIDE PARKING RULES ARE SUSPENDED MONDAY FOR LINCOLN’S BIRTHDAY AND ON ASH WEDNESDAY New York Fashion Week opens Thursday, and its headquarters are at Tribeca’s Spring Studios on St. John’s Lane near the Holland Tunnel exit between Varick,  Canal and Sixth.  Expect turbulence in the area between now […]

Continue reading …

Dates: Thursday, February 1 – Wednesday, February 7 ALTERNATE SIDE PARKING RULES ARE IN EFFECT ALL WEEK You may think the Super Bowl in Minnesota means the traffic impact will be limited to Minneapolis.  Sadly, the effects are felt around the country with a significant increase in car crashes post-game.  And it does matter which […]

Continue reading …

Dates: Thursday, January 25 – Wednesday, January 31 ALTERNATE SIDE PARKING RULES ARE IN EFFECT ALL WEEK The Grammys return to NYC on Sunday night for the first time in 15 years! While the awards ceremony will be at MSG Sunday night, Downtown will get in the action with pre-Grammy festivities. There are parties near […]

Continue reading …

Dates: Thursday, January 18 – Wednesday, January 24 ALTERNATE SIDE PARKING RULES ARE IN EFFECT ALL WEEK The city may never sleep, but it’s not a good week to be traveling late, with subway disruptions and overnight work at the Holland Tunnel. If you’re going to Midtown to a show this week or next, or […]

Continue reading …

Dates: Thurs., Jan. 11–Wed., Jan. 17 ALTERNATE SIDE PARKING RULES ARE SUSPENDED THURSDAY THROUGH SATURDAY FOR POST-SNOW TRASH COLLECTION, AND MONDAY FOR MARTIN LUTHER KING JR. DAY Well, the so-called “bomb cyclone” snow storm is long gone, but the effort to clear 13 inches of snow has left some trash and recycling to pick up. […]

Continue reading …

Dates: Thursday, December 21 – Wednesday, December 27 ALTERNATE SIDE PARKING RULES ARE SUSPENDED MONDAY FOR CHRISTMAS Oy vey!  We are already suffering from the worst traffic congestion in history and now along comes INRIX, the much-respected traffic data analysis firm, telling us in effect, “we ain’t seen nothin’ yet.” I quote, “This will be […]

Continue reading …

Dates: Thurs., Dec. 14–Wed., Dec. 20 ALTERNATE SIDE PARKING RULES IN EFFECT ALL WEEK ‘Tis the season for Gridlock and there’s no escaping the traffic congestion in Lower Manhattan. We’ve got three Gridlock Alert days in the next week including this Thursday, Friday and next Wednesday. Walk or take the subway whenever you can. The […]

Continue reading …

Dates: Thursday, December 7 – Wednesday, December 13 ALTERNATE SIDE PARKING RULES ARE SUSPENDED FRIDAY FOR IMMACULATE CONCEPTION DAY Christmas is more than two weeks away, but holiday gridlock is now. Friday and Wednesday are Gridlock Alert Days.  It’ll be even more hairy Downtown Friday, when there are expected to be lane closures on the […]

Continue reading …

Dates: Thurs., Nov. 30–Wed., Dec. 6 ALTERNATE SIDE PARKING RULES ARE IN EFFECT ALL WEEK  Trumplock hits Saturday. POTUS will be arriving in the morning and leaving sometime in the afternoon. While his stops are all in Midtown or the Upper East Side, Downtown gets impacted as he arrives and leaves via the Wall Street […]

Continue reading …
Page 1 of 30123Next ›Last »