Home » Archives by category » Columns » Transit Sam

Transit Sam: Week of April 19, 2018

Dates: Thurs., April 19 – Wed., April 25 ALTERNATE SIDE PARKING RULES ARE IN EFFECT ALL WEEK Joggers will have the run of Downtown’s West Side Sunday morning and the East Side in the evening. The Nike Go NYC 5k run from 6:30 to 8 p.m. will have the larger traffic effect. Runners take the […]

Dates: Thursday, April 12 – Wednesday, April 18 ALTERNATE SIDE PARKING RULES ARE IN EFFECT ALL WEEK Big walks for science, for Little League, and against teen-dating violence will be slowing traffic Downtown on Saturday. The March for Science begins in Washington Square Park around 9 a.m., Saturday and the group will leave around noon, […]

Continue reading …

Dates: Thursday, April 5 – Wednesday, April 11 ALTERNATE SIDE PARKING RULES ARE SUSPENDED FOR ORTHODOX HOLY THURSDAY AND GOOD FRIDAY, AND SATURDAY FOR PASSOVER Driving commuters and car owners parked in good spots have something to enjoy the rest of this week. There are two more days of lighter traffic as public schools are […]

Continue reading …

Dates: Thursday, March 29 – Wednesday, April 4 ALTERNATE SIDE PARKING RULES ARE SUSPENDED HOLY THURSDAY, GOOD FRIDAY, AND SATURDAY FOR PASSOVER The first get-away surge of 2018 hits Thursday afternoon with schools closed starting Friday for Easter-Passover vacation for the next 10 days. Expect the Holland Tunnel traffic to be heavier than usual starting […]

Continue reading …

Dates: Thurs., Mar. 22 – Wed., Mar. 28 ALTERNATE SIDE PARKING RULES ARE SUSPENDED THURSDAY AND FRIDAY FOR SNOW OPERATIONS   Protests on tap will make things slower on the Brooklyn Bridge this weekend, and all over Lower Manhattan Saturday, when there’s a small march over the bridge and a massive one in Midtown. The […]

Continue reading …

Dates: Thursday, March 15 – Wednesday, March 21 ALTERNATE SIDE PARKING RULES ARE IN EFFECT ALL WEEK  The NYC Half Marathon will literally run though Lower Manhattan Sunday morning on a new route over the Manhattan Bridge and through Chinatown and the Lower East Side. The route will close to traffic from about 6:30 a.m. […]

Continue reading …

Dates: Thurs., March 8 – Wed., March 14 ALTERNATE SIDE PARKING RULES ARE SUSPENDED THURSDAY AND PROBABLY FRIDAY FOR SNOW REMOVAL  Downtown protests this week include the International Women’s Day Thursday and an anti-gun school walkout Wednesday. The #MeToo and #TimesUp campaigns should add to the crowds for the women’s rights walk, which starts at […]

Continue reading …

Dates: Thursday, March 1 – Wednesday, March 7 ALTERNATE SIDE PARKING RULES ARE SUSPENDED THURSDAY FOR PURIM Lots of big Lower Manhattan parties will be slowing down traffic this week Famed stylist June Ambrose and artists Sadie Barnette and Nayland Blake are among the honorees at the Angel Orensanz Center Tuesday at 7 p.m. on […]

Continue reading …

Thurs., Feb. 22–Wed., Feb. 28 ALTERNATE SIDE PARKING RULES ARE IN EFFECT ALL WEEK Lower Manhattan will be jam-packed all weekend with a labor rights rally in Foley Square and a Lunar New Year event Saturday, followed by the “Granddaddy of Them All,” Chinatown’s annual New Year’s parade Sunday celebrating the Year of the Dog. […]

Continue reading …

Transit Sam 2.15.18b Dates: Thursday, February 15 – Wednesday, February 21 ALTERNATE SIDE PARKING RULES ARE SUSPENDED FRIDAY FOR LUNAR NEW YEAR AND MONDAY FOR WASHINGTON’S BIRTHDAY Hundreds of thousands of New Yorkers will be celebrating Lunar New Year Friday in Chinatown with firecrackers and Lion Dancers. It starts in Sara D. Roosevelt Park near […]

Continue reading …
Page 1 of 31123Next ›Last »