Home » Archives by category » Columns » Transit Sam

Transit Sam: Week of July 21, 2016

Dates: Thursday, July 21- Wednesday, July 27 ALTERNATE SIDE PARKING RULES ARE IN EFFECT ALL WEEK The NYC Triathlon early Sunday morning means domino effects on the west side: The northbound Henry Hudson Parkway will be closed from 57th St. to the Henry Hudson Bridge from 5:30 a.m. to 2 p.m. Sunday, slowing northbound traffic along […]

Dates: Thurs., July 14–Wed., July 20 ALTERNATE SIDE PARKING RULES ARE IN EFFECT ALL WEEK Vive la France! A Bastille Day celebration will close West Broadway between Walker and White Sts. from 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Thursday. Follow me on Twitter @GridlockSam and check the website www.GridlockSam.com for more info as the summer holidays […]

Continue reading …

Dates: Thursday, July 7 – Wednesday, July 13 ALTERNATE SIDE PARKING RULES ARE SUSPENDED THURSDAY FOR EID-AL FITR More FDR Drive closures ahead this week! Expect extra traffic on West St. overnight when the FDR Drive is fully closed for construction between 61st and 96th Sts. midnight to 5:30 a.m. the next morning on Friday […]

Continue reading …

Dates: Thurs., June 30 – Wed., July 6 ALTERNATE SIDE PARKING RULES ARE SUSPENDED MONDAY, TUESDAY, AND WEDNESDAY Happy Independence Day! The big getaway will be on Thursday and Friday afternoons (Thursday may be worse) as many take advantage of the long weekend ahead, but don’t be surprised if you see a surge on Wednesday […]

Continue reading …

Dates: Thurs., June 23 – Wed., June 29 ALTERNATE SIDE PARKING RULES ARE IN EFFECT ALL WEEK  It’s Pride month, and this weekend is full of events! Traffic will slow around the city, but especially in lower Manhattan: a kick-off rally at Pier 26 will take place from 6 p.m. to 9:30 p.m. Friday. Thousands […]

Continue reading …

Dates: Thurs., June 16–Wed., June 22 ALTERNATE SIDE PARKING RULES ARE IN EFFECT ALL WEEK Expect more traffic on West St. overnight as the FDR Drive is fully closed for construction at 63rd St. from 11 p.m. to 6 a.m. the next morning on Wednesday through Friday nights. Happy Father’s Day this Sunday! Be sure […]

Continue reading …

Dates: Thurs., June 9 – Wed., June 15 ALTERNATE SIDE PARKING RULES ARE SUSPENDED MONDAY FOR SHAVUOT  The weather is hot and the activity on the streets of Lower Manhattan is even hotter! Festivals, races, and plenty of street closures ahead this week. For the latest in road closures and traffic news, follow me on […]

Continue reading …

Dates: Thurs., June 2–Wed., June 8  ALTERNATE SIDE PARKING RULES ARE IN EFFECT ALL WEEK Now that Memorial Day has come and gone, don’t expect its effects to disappear.  From now until Labor Day expect all approaches to the Holland Tunnel to be overloaded from 3 p.m. to after 6 p.m. every Thursday and Friday. […]

Continue reading …

Dates: Thurs., May 26 – Wed., June 1 SUNDAY RULES IN EFFECT MONDAY FOR MEMORIAL DAY Memorial Day weekend is finally here! This means lower Manhattan will see monster traffic jams at area bridges and tunnels on Thursday and Friday. The Holland Tunnel will be hit hardest at the approaches from Canal, Varick, and Broome Sts. […]

Continue reading …

Dates: Thurs., May 19 – Wed., May 25 ALTERNATE SIDE PARKING RULES ARE IN EFFECT ALL WEEK Festivals, runs, and dance parades, oh my! Lower Manhattan is full of activity this week and weekend. Be sure to follow me on Twitter @GridlockSam and check the website at www.GridlockSam.com for more as the week progresses. The […]

Continue reading …
Page 1 of 23123Next ›Last »