Home » Archives by category » Columns » Transit Sam

Transit Sam: Week of June 21, 2018

Dates: Thursday, June 21 – Wednesday, June 27 ALTERNATE SIDE PARKING RULES ARE IN EFFECT ALL WEEK The Trump administration’s new policy of separating young children from their parents at the border will likely swell the number of protesters at the weekly Thursday Jericho Walk immigrant rights protest 11 a.m. to noon at Federal Plaza […]

Dates: Thursday, June 14 – Wednesday, June 20 ALTERNATE SIDE PARKING RULES ARE SUSPENDED FRIDAY AND SATURDAY FOR EID AL-FITR The Flag Day Parade will have children and others marching and waving stars and stripes Thursday, closing down Broadway from City Hall to Stone St. from about 11:30 a.m. to 1:30 p.m. Downtown’s River to […]

Continue reading …

Dates: Thursday, June 7 – Wednesday, June 13 ALTERNATE SIDE PARKING RULES ARE IN EFFECT ALL WEEK State DOT this week began installing new security infrastructure including bollards, curbs, etc. on the Hudson River greenway in Lower Manhattan near Chambers St./Stuyvesant High School and in Chelsea, replacing the ugly and constricting Jersey barriers placed there […]

Continue reading …

Dates: Thurs., May 31–Wed., June 6 ALTERNATE SIDE PARKING RULES IN EFFECT ALL WEEK Brooklyn Bridge Alert! Downtown’s Foley Square has Jericho Walks this Thursday and Friday related to immigrant advocates’ outrage over two different issues regarding children, and an anti-gun march Saturday. Friday’s rush hour rally from 5 to 6:30 p.m. is part of […]

Continue reading …

Dates: Thursday, May 24 – Wednesday, May 30 ALTERNATE SIDE PARKING RULES ARE SUSPENDED MONDAY FOR MEMORIAL DAY   Thursday is the new Friday when it comes to get-away traffic, but the odd thing is Friday is still Friday traffic-wise.  So, lower Manhattanites brace yourselves for major traffic jams at the five bridges and tunnels […]

Continue reading …

Dates: Thursday, May 17 – Wednesday, May 23 ALTERNATE SIDE PARKING RULES ARE SUSPENDED MONDAY FOR SHAVUOT There’s lots of happenings affecting Downtown traffic this week including the NYPD 5K Memorial Run, which will close down the southbound side of the West Side Highway between Albany and 14th Sts. Sunday 9:45 a.m. to noon. There’s […]

Continue reading …

Dates: Thursday, May 10 – Wednesday, May 16 ALTERNATE SIDE PARKING RULES ARE SUSPENDED THURSDAY FOR SOLEMNITY OF THE ASCENSION    Happy Mother’s Day to moms everywhere, and to the drivers, be aware the streets and roads will be busier as many families go out to celebrate. The nicer restaurants of Tribeca and Fidi will […]

Continue reading …

Dates: Thurs., May 3–Wed., May 9 ALTERNATE SIDE PARKING RULES IN EFFECT ALL WEEK The Five Boro Bike Tour begins in Lower Manhattan Sunday and will tie up streets all morning. Just after midnight the formation area will close from The Battery to Franklin and Church Sts. along Greenwich St., Trinity Pl. and Church St. […]

Continue reading …

Dates: Thursday, April 26 – Wednesday, May 2 ALTERNATE SIDE PARKING RULES ARE IN EFFECT ALL WEEK Three days before the “Homeland” season finale, series star Claire Danes will be discussing the show at the Tribeca Film Festival Hub on St. John’s Lane, near Sixth Ave., Canal and Varick Sts. and the Holland Tunnel entrances […]

Continue reading …

Dates: Thurs., April 19 – Wed., April 25 ALTERNATE SIDE PARKING RULES ARE IN EFFECT ALL WEEK Joggers will have the run of Downtown’s West Side Sunday morning and the East Side in the evening. The Nike Go NYC 5k run from 6:30 to 8 p.m. will have the larger traffic effect. Runners take the […]

Continue reading …
Page 1 of 32123Next ›Last »