Home » Archives by category » Columns » Transit Sam

Transit Sam: Week of May 5, 2016

Dates: Thurs., May 5–Wed., May 11  ALTERNATE SIDE PARKING RULES ARE SUSPENDED THURSDAY FOR THE SOLEMNITY OF THE ASCENSION Happy Mother’s Day! Lower Manhattan will be busy Sunday as people flock to restaurants to celebrate with their mothers, grandmothers, aunts et al. Mother’s Day has far worse traffic than Father’s Day since dads take moms […]

Dates: Thurs., Apr. 28 – Wed., May 4 ALTERNATE SIDE PARKING RULES ARE SUSPENDED THURSDAY, FRIDAY, AND SATURDAY Sunday is May Day! The first of May is notorious for protest action, and one workers’ rights group will be gathering in Union Square at noon. At 3 p.m. they’ll march across 14th St. to Avenue C, then down […]

Continue reading …

Thurs., Apr. 21 – Wed., Apr. 27  ALTERNATE SIDE PARKING RULES ARE SUSPENDED SATURDAY FOR PASSOVER Transit Sam supports car-free day on Friday in honor of Earth Day and you should too!  Please avoid driving anywhere in the city all day Friday. Lower Manhattanites can also enjoy the streets surrounding Washington Square Park being closed […]

Continue reading …

Dates: Thurs., Apr. 14 – Wed., Apr. 20 ALTERNATE SIDE PARKING RULES ARE IN EFFECT ALL WEEK Political fever is taking over New York! With debates, protestors, rallies, and more leading up to the New York primary expect traffic turbulence in Lower Manhattan. Be sure to follow me on Twitter @GridlockSam for tips as the […]

Continue reading …

Thurs., Apr. 7 – Wed., Apr. 13 ALTERNATE SIDE PARKING RULES ARE IN EFFECT  ALL WEEK It must be spring — the Tribeca Film Festival is back! The festival kicks off Wednesday, and while the real action doesn’t heat up until later in the week, stars, cinephiles, and paparazzi alike will be flocking to the […]

Continue reading …

Dates: Thurs., Mar. 31 – Wed., Apr. 6  ALTERNATE SIDE PARKING RULES ARE IN EFFECT ALL WEEK Bridge and tunnel woes ahead each night this week! Be sure to follow me on Twitter @GridlockSam, and check the website www.GridlockSam.com for more traffic updates as the week unfolds. In the Lincoln Tunnel, the New York-bound south […]

Continue reading …

Thurs., Mar. 24 – Wed., Mar. 30 ALTERNATE SIDE PARKING RULES ARE SUSPENDED THURSDAY AND FRIDAY Alternate Side Parking rules are suspended Thursday for Purim and Holy Thursday, and Friday for Good Friday, but all other curbside regulations, including meters, remain in effect. Public schools will be closed Friday and some parochial schools on Thursday and […]

Continue reading …

Dates: Thurs., Mar. 17 – Wed., Mar. 23 ALTERNATE SIDE PARKING RULES ARE IN EFFECT ALL WEEK  Happy St. Patrick’s Day! Slowdowns from the 255th annual St. Patrick’s Day Parade on Fifth Ave. 11 a.m. to 5 p.m. today (Thursday) will hit Midtown the hardest, but Lower Manhattan will still feel the effect. Watch for […]

Continue reading …

Dates: Thurs., March 10 – Wed., March 16 ALTERNATE SIDE PARKING RULES ARE IN EFFECT ALL WEEK NJ Transit workers in the rail division may walk off the job Sunday morning.  What this could mean for Lower Manhattan is heavier traffic to and from the Holland Tunnel, more buses on streets and a likely diversion […]

Continue reading …

Dates: Thursday, March 3 – Wednesday, March 9 ALTERNATE SIDE PARKING RULES ARE IN EFFECT ALL WEEK, EXCEPT FRIDAY Alternate side parking rules are suspended Friday, March 4, for snow removal.  Armory Arts Week starts Thursday bringing art, buyers and traffic when shows run in Soho and on the lower East Side. The Art on Paper […]

Continue reading …
Page 1 of 21123Next ›Last »