Home » Archives by category » Columns » Transit Sam

Transit Sam: Week of Nov. 16, 2017

Dates: Thurs., Nov. 16–Wed., Nov. 22 ALTERNATE SIDE PARKING RULES IN EFFECT ALL WEEK Hopefully, you have lots to be thankful for this holiday season, but light traffic won’t be one of them. Friday is the first Gridlock Alert Day as some Thanksgiving travelers begin their long treks. But, the biggest get-away day of the […]

Dates: Thursday, November 9 – Wednesday, November 15 ALTERNATE SIDE PARKING RULES WILL BE SUSPENDED FRIDAY AND SATURDAY FOR VETERANS DAY  Lower Manhattan has become “Crane City” with multiple street closures this coming weekend for construction. Prince Street between Thompson Street and West Broadway closed Saturday from 8 am to 6 pm and Sunday from […]

Continue reading …

Dates: Thurs., Nov. 2–Wed., Nov. 8 ALTERNATE SIDE PARKING RULES ARE WILL BE SUSPENDED TUESDAY FOR ELECTION DAY Special alert: following Tuesday’s deadly attack expect some continued street disruptions as police continue their investigation.  West St. will be most affected from 14th St. to Chambers St. and even down to the Battery. Expect increased police […]

Continue reading …

Dates: Thursday, October 26 – Wednesday, November 1 ALTERNATE SIDE PARKING RULES WILL BE SUSPENDED WEDNESDAY FOR ALL SAINTS DAY Tuesday is Halloween, and from 7 p.m. to 11 p.m., the Village Halloween Parade will take over the streets of the West Village, and beyond. Live music, floats, and costumed creatures will head up Sixth […]

Continue reading …

Dates: Thurs., Oct. 19–Wed., Oct. 25 ALTERNATE SIDE PARKING RULES ARE SUSPENDED THURSDAY FOR DIWALI Bicyclists will roll through the streets of Manhattan this Sunday for Bike MS starting at 5:30 a.m. This is mostly an uptown affair, but the route will stretch down West St. from the 50s all the way to Canal St., […]

Continue reading …

Dates: Thursday, October 12 – Wednesday, October 18 ALTERNATE SIDE PARKING RULES ARE SUSPENDED THURSDAY AND FRIDAY FOR JEWISH HOLIDAYS How about dem Jets!  Who would’ve thought that after five games they’d be in first place squaring off against their nemesis, the New England Patriots?  The winner will take sole possession of first place and […]

Continue reading …

Thurs., Oct. 5–Wed., Oct. 11 ALTERNATE SIDE PARKING RULES ARE SUSPENDED THURSDAY, FRIDAY & MONDAY FOR SUCCOTH AND COLUMBUS DAY Some are now worrying about the “Fall of Hell” as a result of a devastating highway ramp fire in NJ that has caused lasting traffic headaches for Downtown. The westbound Route 139 ramp, just past […]

Continue reading …

Dates: Thursday, September 28 – Wednesday, October 4 ALTERNATE SIDE PARKING RULES ARE SUSPENDED SATURDAY FOR YOM KIPPUR. With two presidential visits in a week now behind us, Lower Manhattan can take a deep breath. Nonetheless, the usual football and festivals, as well as Yom Kippur, will mean some traffic turbulence. Here’s what to expect […]

Continue reading …

Dates: Thurs., Sept. 21 – Wed., Sept. 27 ALTERNATE SIDE PARKING RULES ARE SUSPENDED THURSDAY AND FRIDAY FOR ROSH HASHANAH POTUS alert! President Trump will leave town on Thursday, but not for long.  Thursday afternoon he hits the road, and to Downtowners that road is the FDR.   He departs via the Wall Street Heliport […]

Continue reading …

Dates: Thursday, September 14 – Wednesday, September 20 ALTERNATE SIDE PARKING RULES ARE IN EFFECT ALL WEEK Brace yourselves, lower Manhattan! Between POTUS’s arrival in town on Sunday and the first Monday night football game of the year, on top of various street festivals and fairs, we’re looking at a tough traffic week ahead. President […]

Continue reading …
Page 1 of 29123Next ›Last »