Home » Archives by category » Columns » Transit Sam

Transit Sam: Week of Sept. 20, 2018

Thurs., Sept. 20–Wed., Sept. 26 ALTERNATE SIDE PARKING SUSPENDED MONDAY AND TUESDAY FOR SUCCOTH The United Nations General Assembly will have major effects Downtown. President Trump is expected to get to NYC late Sunday and leave Tuesday, closing the northbound FDR Drive after his arrival and southbound on departure day. The FDR is subject to […]

Dates: Thursday, September 13 – Wednesday, September 19  ALTERNATE SIDE PARKING RULES ARE SUSPENDED WEDNESDAY FOR YOM KIPPUR   One of Little Italy’s biggest events, the Feast of San Gennaro, opens Thursday and will close Grand and Hester Sts. between Centre and Mott Sts., and Mulberry between Canal and E, Houston Sts. from 11:30 a.m. […]

Continue reading …

Dates: Thursday, September 6 – Wednesday, September 12  ALTERNATE SIDE PARKING RULES ARE SUSPENDED MONDAY AND TUESDAY FOR ROSH HASHANAH   The world remembers 9/11 on Tuesday, and many Lower Manhattan streets including the West Side Highway near the September 11 Memorial will be extremely slow going for the annual ceremony from 6 a.m. to […]

Continue reading …

Dates: Thursday, August 30 – Wednesday, September 5  ALTERNATE SIDE PARKING RULES ARE SUSPENDED MONDAY FOR LABOR DAY  Holland Tunnel Alert Thursday! The Labor Day weekend getaway begins Thursday, when the Giants also end their preseason against the Patriots 7 p.m., adding to the rush hour. The I-495 reconstruction lane closures near the Lincoln Tunnel […]

Continue reading …

Dates: Thursday, August 23 – Wednesday, August 29 ALTERNATE SIDE PARKING RULES ARE SUSPENDED THURSDAY AUGUST 23rd  FOR EID AL-ADHA  The Jets play the Giants at MetLife Stadium Friday night at 7:30 p.m.  Friday night games cause the most turbulence for rush hour commuters crossing the Hudson River.  This Friday will be even worse with […]

Continue reading …

Dates: Thursday, August 16 – Wednesday, August 22  ALTERNATE SIDE PARKING RULES ARE SUSPENDED TUESDAY, WEDNESDAY AND THURSDAY (AUG. 22–23) FOR  IDUL-ADHA (EID AL-ADHA) You’ve probably been hearing about upcoming traffic Armageddon affecting the Lincoln Tunnel and are worrying about its impact in lower Manhattan at the Holland. Transit Sam is here to give you the […]

Continue reading …

Dates: Thurs., Aug. 9–Wed., Aug. 15 ALTERNATE SIDE PARKING RULES ARE SUSPENDED WEDNESDAY FOR FEAST OF THE ASSUMPTION The Summer Streets program rolls back Downtown on Saturday with all of Lafayette St. closed to cars from 6 a.m. to about 1:30 p.m. The Brooklyn Bridge’s Centre St. exit will be closed as well. The bridge […]

Continue reading …

Dates: Thursday, August 2 – Wednesday, August 8 ALTERNATE SIDE PARKING RULES ARE IN EFFECT ALL WEEK Saturday will be a day to bike or walk rather than drive as Summer Streets closes auto traffic on almost seven miles of Manhattan streets including Lafayette from 6 a.m. to about 1:30 p.m. The event runs for […]

Continue reading …

Thurs., July 26 – Wed., Aug. 1 ALTERNATE SIDE PARKING RULES IN EFFECT ALL WEEK South Street Seaport’s new Pier 17 has its biggest week since its opening with 8 p.m. performances by Jon Batiste of Stephen Colbert fame Saturday, and comedian Amy Schumer Wednesday. Expect traffic turbulence by the Brooklyn Bridge, on the FDR, […]

Continue reading …

Dates: Thursday, July 19 – Wednesday, July 25  ALTERNATE SIDE PARKING RULES ARE IN EFFECT ALL WEEK Immigration protests will be bigger this week Downtown. Bikes against Deportation will be cycling around the immigration court at Varick, Houston, Hudson and Clarkson Streets Thursday between 5 and 6 p.m. Those streets and the Holland Tunnel entrances […]

Continue reading …
Page 1 of 33123Next ›Last »