BOOYAH : Halloween is for kids!

How about a little air, Scarecrow? This year, Screamin’ Green Halloween is an outdoor affair. Photo courtesy of Arts Brookfield

SCREAMIN’ GREEN HALLOWEEN  |  For the first time, World Financial Center’s annual family-friendly, eco-themed autumnal afternoon of adventure is taking place outdoors. Watched over by a 30-foot scarecrow and witch, the Plaza and waterfront will be transformed into a Halloween Village. At the Costume Swap, exchange last year’s trick-or-treat guise for gently used and ready-to-wear ones that will come in handy at 3pm’s closing ceremony: The Ghosts and Goblins Parade. Prior to that, kids can listen to spooky tales told in verse, at the Poets House Tent. Outside, they’ll join wandering puppets and marching bands and receive fair trade organic treats and temporary tattoos of pumpkins and ghosts.

Before those prizes are claimed, though, there will be games to play — including a vertical spin on the old bobbing for apples tub, and a challenge to tack the face onto a pumpkin (no donkey tail-pinning at this party!). Ghoulish little gamers can also test their skill at the Gourd Roll (an obstacle course where you navigate your gourd using a small broom) and try to toss a Spider in the Brew (only three chances to get that beanbag creepy crawly into the giant tractor tire cauldron).
The Ghost Farm is a giant communal art installation waiting for contributions (a ghost of your making). Give those specters something to dance to, by playing the Musical Spider Web (made of gongs, pipes, bells and washtubs). In the Screamin’ Green Screen Photo Booth, have a photo taken wearing your newly crafted Green Halloween costume and email it, tweet it or post it on Facebook.
Free. Sat., Oct, 27, from 12-3pm, at World Financial Center Plaza (220 Vesey St.). Free valet bicycle parking will be provided by Transportation Alternatives. For event info, visit worldfinancialcenter.com/screamin-green-halloween or call 212-945-0505.

Photo courtesy of The Scholastic Store
Special guest Clifford visits the Scholastic Halloween Party, on Oct. 28.

PARTY & PARADE, AT THE SCHOLASTIC STORE  |  It’s a safe bet that more than one Harry Potter will be marching in Scholastic’s Halloween Costume Parade — an annual event that invites kids to strut their spooky stuff in a procession that snakes its way around the block. Literary-themed costumes are encouraged, but plain old goblins, princesses and ghouls are also welcome! Afterwards, head back to the Scholastic Store — where a makeshift mad scientist’s lab allows you to make take-home monster-blood! Spin the “Wheel of Misfortune” to receive a spooky prize (celebrating 20 years of R.L. Stine’s “Goosebumps”). The free phantasmagoric fun happens at 3pm on Sat., Oct. 27 (appropriate for ages 3 and up).

Return the next day (if you dare), for the store’s Halloween Party. Transformed into Scholastic Haunted Headquarters, partygoers will first cut loose by stretching out their skeletons (courtesy of instructors from Karma Kids Yoga). Then, after a mini-class from Gymboree, the band Bari Koral plays live music as little monsters brew bubbling potions, bowl for mummies, gorge on snacks and treats, decorate monster cupcakes and parade around in a “Costume Conga” line! Plus, when you least expect it, Clifford the Big Red Dog will make a special appearance! Sun., Oct. 28, 3-5pm. Tickets are $20 per child (price includes one accompanying adult and a $5 gift card to the store; additional adults, $10 each). To reserve a spot, call 212-343-6166 or email thescholasticstore@scholastic.com.  

Both events take place at 557 Broadway (btw. Prince & Spring Sts.). Regular store hours: Mon.-Sat., 10am-7pm and Sun., 11am-6pm. For info, visit scholastic.com/sohostore.

Image courtesy of Penguin Young Readers Group
“Gustav Gloom” author Adam-Troy Castro will appear (in the flesh) at Books of Wonde, on Oct. 23.

SPOOKY BOOK AUTHORS, at BOOKS OF WONDER  |  On Tues., Oct. 23, from 6-8pm,  the Books of Wonder “Spooky Middle Grade Reads” program invites you to meet Nikki Loftin (author of “The Sinister Sweetness of Splendid Academy”) and Claire Legrand (author of “The Cavendish Home for Boys and Girls”). Adam-Troy Castro will also be on hand, to read from “Gustav Gloom and the People Taker.” Fans of “Coraline” and “The Books of Elsewhere” are sure to enjoy this dark adventure fantasy, in which unhappy little Gustav and his new neighbor Fernie venture into the Gloom mansion and discover a shadowy world of mystery.

Books of Wonder’s scare-inducing author readings continues on Thurs. Oct. 25 (6-8pm), with a group of (lucky?) seven whose ranks include Libba Bray (“The Diviners”), Dan Krokos (“False Memory”) and Kate Milford (“Broken Lands”). On Sat., Oct. 27 (12-2pm), the afternoon of “Haunted Halloween Fun” features in-the-flesh appearances from Karina Wolf (“The Insomniacs”), Michael Leviton (“My First Ghost”), Leo Landry (“Trick or Treat”), Melissa Iwai (“Hush, Little Monster”) and others. On Sun., Oct. 28 (1-3pm), guests for the “Thrills & Chills for Middle Graders” program includes Gitty Daneshvari (“Ghoulfriends Forever”), Natasha Lowe (“The Power of Poppy Pendle”) and Elizabeth Cody Kimmel (“Legend of the Ghost Dog”).

Free. At Books of Wonder (18 W. 18th St., btw. Fifth & Sixth Aves.). Regular store hours are Mon.-Sat., 11am-7pm and Sun., 11am-6pm. For more info, call 212-989-3270 or visit booksofwonder.com.

Spread the word:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


9 + four =

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>